Josh Berman


Josh Berman is an internationally recognized cornetist and composer. He has led the acclaimed Old Idea, Josh Berman and his Gang, and his own trio. In addition to being an indispensable contributor to Chicago’s jazz and improvised music scene, Berman has been a concert presenter with fellow Chicagoan Mike Reed, producing hundreds of shows over the past 20 years. Berman’s work has been critically acclaimed in the New York Times, Chicago Tribune, JazzTimes, and DownBeat, among others. His recordings can be found on the Chicago’s legendary Delmark Records and more recently on Austin’s Astral Spirits Records

Southern Sun

Keefe jackson – tenor saxophone and bass clarinet
Josh Berman – cornet
Jon Rune Strøm – double bass
Tollef østvang – drums

A killer quartet session that matches a pair of the finest, most adventurous players from the post-millennium Chicago jazz scene with equally excellent counterparts from Norway! The players are Keefe Jackson on tenor sax and bass clarinet, Josh Berman on coronet, Jon Rune Strom on double bass and Tollef Ostvang on drums – and the set is a real knockout – balancing looseness and tension with cohesion and melody in a really impeccable way. Each player gets plenty of space to shine individually, and each gets a writing credit, which makes perfect sense. We're committed fans of the players, and this session shines as brightly as any other contemporaneous work of theirs we can think of! Includes "Blues", "Southern Sun", "Your Uncle", "What Lies Ahead", "Symbol Reform", "Cold Snap" and "Blowing In From".  © 1996-2021, Dusty Groove, Inc.