Josh Berman


Josh Berman is an internationally recognized cornetist and composer. He has led the acclaimed Old Idea, Josh Berman and his Gang, and his own trio. In addition to being an indispensable contributor to Chicago’s jazz and improvised music scene, Berman has been a concert presenter with fellow Chicagoan Mike Reed, producing hundreds of shows over the past 20 years. Berman’s work has been critically acclaimed in the New York Times, Chicago Tribune, JazzTimes, and DownBeat, among others. His recordings can be found on the Chicago’s legendary Delmark Records and more recently on Austin’s Astral Spirits Records

Ken Vandermark's Topology Nonet Featuring Joe McPhee
Impressions of Po Music

Joe McPhee: tenor saxophone
Jason Adasiewicz: vibraphone
Josh Berman: cornet
Jeb Bishop: trombone
Tim Daisy: drums
Kent Kessler: bass
Fred Lonberg-Holm: cello and electronics
Dave Rempis: saxophones
Ken Vandermark: clarinets and tenor saxophone

On “Impressions Of Future Retrospective” the Nonet exercises a pulsing blues ringing with vibraphonist Jason Adasiewicz’s metallurgy and cellist Fred Lonberg-Holm’s relentless attack. Vandermark weaves the music with searing solos from cornetist Josh Berman, saxophonist Dave Rempis and McPhee himself.

-Mark Corroto, All About Jazz, 2013