Josh Berman


Josh Berman is an internationally recognized cornetist and composer. He has led the acclaimed Old Idea, Josh Berman and his Gang, and his own trio. In addition to being an indispensable contributor to Chicago’s jazz and improvised music scene, Berman has been a concert presenter with fellow Chicagoan Mike Reed, producing hundreds of shows over the past 20 years. Berman’s work has been critically acclaimed in the New York Times, Chicago Tribune, JazzTimes, and DownBeat, among others. His recordings can be found on the Chicago’s legendary Delmark Records and more recently on Austin’s Astral Spirits Records

Håvard Wiik’s Chicago Project

Thursday | 30 August 2018
Elastic - 9:00pm

Norwegian pianist Håvard Wiik, a key member of and composer for countless bands including Atomic, and his own trio, gathers together a configuration of Chicago collaborators to debut some large ensemble material.

Josh Berman – cornet
Jason Stein – bass clarinet
Dave Rempis – saxophones
Håvard Wiik – piano
Jason Roebke – bass
Tim Daisy – drums
Håvard Wiik (1975) is one of Norway’s most respected and profiled jazz pianists.  He studied jazz and composition at the jazz department at Trondheim Music Conservatory, and for almost twenty years has been a member and founder of several the important Norwegian and international ensembles (Atomic, Håvard Wiik Trio, Side A, Motif, Der Lange Schatten & Free Fall). He has toured all over the world with these groups. In 2004 he was honored as ’artist in residence’ at the Molde international Jazzfestival in Norway. In 2006 he received one the greatest acknowledgements for a Norwegian jazz musician, the Kongsberg Jazzfestival’s ‘Vital-prize.’

In 2007 he relocated to Berlin where he works with musicians including Axel Dörner, Michael Thieke, Tobias Delius, Jan Roder, Tristan Honsinger, Christian Lillinger and Antonio Borghini.

For this project, Wiik called on the help of longtime colleague Ken Vandermark to gather some of Chicago’s finest musicians to play his music. Wiik has a longstanding history with the city and it’s musicians dating back to 2004, which inspired him to write a new set of compositions for this occasion with these particular improvisers in mind.